Dinner Before Dental

Surf and TurfI reminisce about meals.

I’ve been trying to eat food that requires minimal chewing since I’m in the throes of dental work. Add to that trouble digesting some of life’s greatest pleasures: red sauce, gravy, cooked onions, turkey. I’m grateful for my health, of course, but I am nostalgic about things like this decadent surf-and-turf I shared with my brother two summers ago. We saw  a  fancy restaurant while walking around Beverly Hills and I had a “let’s just go for it” moment.  We sat outdoors, up a curvy, outdoor flight of stairs, watching the tourists watch us eat as though as were part of the 1%. It was a steak and lobster we’ll remember for a long, long time.

Last week I met a friend for dinner and ordered grilled salmon and zucchini from the healthy side of the menu. It was quite good and left me feeling nutritionally virtuous. Or maybe it was the glass of wine saying that, I’m not sure. But it was a chilly, damp night and I really wanted something more substantial than fish. Something umami, that “fifth taste” that includes meaty food. (and mushrooms!)

I remain mindful of what I can have and remember the good times that surrounded the best dinnertimes. And in the end, I know it’s who you share the meal with that matters more than what was ingested.

Surf Turf, LA September 2014

 

6 thoughts on “Dinner Before Dental

  1. Besides providing delicious looking pics of the food above, I thank you for introducing me to umami. At first, I thought it was a type of sushi! LOL! Thanks for the information! I hope you are done with all of your dental work so that you can continue enjoying such wonderful foods!

    Like

Comments? Reactions? Share here!

