The Polar Vortex Stole My January (And February’s Not Looking Too Good Either)

It’s been cold and windy and I couldn’t get Life In A Northern Town out of my head. I’m not even sure if it has anything to do with snow or weather but it has the ethereal quality of an aurora borealis. Here’s a You Tube of the video, with a true Eighties look.

I was up early Saturday – Saturday! – for a visit from the cable company, then tried to figure out how to move my car from its spot in the permafrost. I chose the safe route: leave it there for another few weeks and walk to the small local grocery instead of driving to the big supermarket. I declined an invitation to go out for drinks, even though it didn’t involve driving at all. Probably could have worked on my taxes or washed the walls but nah, more fun to watch the Olympics, light candles and pretend I have a fireplace.

Okay nation of Canada, go ahead and laugh at me, I probably deserve it. But I’ve had some icy spills over the years that resulted in chiropractic care and physical therapy and yeah, I’d rather avoid that happening again. To my credit, I did walk to my class on Sunday and bought apples at the farmer’s market on the way home. (I feel really bad for the vendors out there this winter.)

Slush, which is sure to freeze overnight.
Slush, which is sure to freeze overnight.

I have to make solid, unbreakable plans or the next four weekends or I’ll turn into a well fed, well-read hermit with an extremely clean, sweet-smelling home.

One thought on “The Polar Vortex Stole My January (And February’s Not Looking Too Good Either)

Comments? Reactions? Share here!

